Faure, Gabriel - Complete Songs, Volume Three View larger

Faure, Gabriel - Complete Songs, Volume Three



The Complete Verlaine Settings.

17 Songs for High Voice & Piano.

Critical Edition by Roy Howat & Emily Kilpatrick.

Audio Backing Tracks available Online.

More details

£ 15.95

More info

Gabriel Fauré’s seventeen settings of the poetry of Paul Verlaine mark the biggest single stylistic leap of his compositional career, and arguably one of the high points of the entire art song repertoire. The present edition contains the three individual settings Claire de lune, Spleen and Prison together with the op. 58 “Venetian” songs and the magnificient cycle La Bonne Chanson.With its focus both practical and scholarly, this new Complete Edition of songs aims to encourage creative, confident and wellinformed performance. Founded on study of hundreds of manuscripts and printed sources, it has been tested internationally in masterclasses, workshops, seminars, concerts and recordings. In this it takes a lead from the composer, who prepared his own editions on the basis fo performing experience. The edition also assimilates interpretative insights from musicians who worked with Fauré, as well as from his documented performing preferences.


  • Clair de lune (Menuet) (Op. 46 no. 2)
  • Spleen (Op. 51 no. 3)
  • Prison (Op. 68 no. 1 [Op. 83 no. 1])
  • Cinq mélodies [“de Venise”] (Op. 58)
  1. Mandoline
  2. En sourdine
  3. Green
  4. À Clymène
  5. C’est l’extase

La Bonne Chanson (Op. 61)

  1. Une Sainte en son auréole
  2. Puisque l’aube grandit
  3. La lune blanche luit dans les bois
  4. J’allais par des chemins perfides
  5. J’ai presque peur, en vérité
  6. Avant que tu ne ten ailles
  7. Donc, ce sera par un clair jour d’été
  8. N’est-ce pas?
  9. L’hiver a cessé

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Composers F' category: