Handel, G F - Complete Works for Violin & Basso continuo. (Urtext).



Violin and Piano.

Set on the 2008-2011 ABRSM Grade 7 syllabus.

More details

£ 27.00

More info

Contains 'Adagio' and 'Allegro': 1st and 2nd movements from Sonata in A, HWV 372, Op.1 no.14. Set on the 2008-2011 ABRSM Grade 7 syllabus.

Händel, Georg Friedrich    (1685-1759)

Complete Works for Violin and Basso continuo    
Instrumentation: Violin, Basso continuo

Reviews of this publication:


* George Frideric Handel

Handel returned repeatedly throughout his life to the composition of
works for violin and
basso continuo.

The earliest autograph, HWV 358, was composed around 1707, his last
work for this
combination of instruments, the Sonata in D major, HWV 371, stems
from circa 1750.

In addition to the 5 sonatas, which have survived as autographs,
there are 4 other sonatas of
a spurious nature which have found a place in the violin repertoire
under Handel’s name
although they are certainly not from his pen. These sonatas are
attempts by other unknown
composers to make a name by using the style of the great master. To
round off this first ever
publication of Handels Complete Works for Violin and Basso
continuo, there are two
movements currently not available in any other performing edition:
the Allegro, HWV 408 and
an Andante, HWV 412.

The Authoritative Performing Edition

- Edition with the recently-revised Urtext of the Halle Handel

- First ever performing edition of the complete works for violin and
basso continuo
in one volume

- With separate violin and continuo bass parts, the latter with
- Basso continuo part with figures including 2 movements not
available in any other
performing edition

- Includes valuable comments on performance practice

- An Associated Board recommended title

“All violinists should buy this volume, not only for its
completeness and clarity, but because
it is exceptionally good value for score and parts.”

(ESTA, News & Views, Spring 2003)


Additional Information:

Sonata G-Dur, HWV 358
Sonata d-Moll, HWV 359
Sonata A-Dur, HWV 361
Sonata g-Moll, HWV 364
Sonata D-Dur, HWV 371
Sonata g-Moll, HWV 368
Sonata F-Dur, HWV 370
Sonata A-Dur, HWV 372
Sonata E-Dur, HWV 373
Allegro c-Moll, HWV 408
Andante a-Moll, HWV 412


Complete Works Violin & Piano (Sonatas)

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Violin' category: