Berkeley, Michael - String Trio. View larger

Berkeley, Michael - String Trio.



Score Only.

Oxford Contemporary Repertoire.

More details

£ 9.25

More info

The STRING TRIO (for violin, viola and cello) was the first piece by Michael Berkeley completed after he began working (in 1976) with Richard Rodney Bennett to whom the work is dedicated. It attempts to reach an uncluttered intensity through purity of line. The first movement is based on a slow theme in crotchets with a faster middle section. It is balanced by a quick second movement which, correspondingly, has a more relaxed central passage. This movement also uses the trio in combinations of duets.
STRING TRIO was given its first performance by the Richards String Trio (Nona Liddell, Jean Stewart and Bernard Richards) at Leicester on 9th November 1978. The first London performance was given by the same players at Wigmore Hall on 3rd December 1978.
Duration 15 minutes

You might also be interested in