Cover Image
  • Cover Image
  •  Sample Page 1
  •  Sample Page 2

Saariaho, Kaija - Neiges (version for twelve cellists)

Catalogue No: CH69795
ArrangementTwelve Cellos
Product FormatSheet Music
Edition TypeStudy Score
ComposerKaija Saariaho
Awaiting restock from UK distributor, typically dispatched in 3-4 weeks
Publication Date2024

Originally written as an octet, this version of Kaija Saariaho’s Neiges calls for twelve cellos. In the composer’s words, “When I considered the ensemble of eight cellos, I first thought of matt and dark textures. I also wanted to go back to some ideas on symmetry. While I was pondering all that, I saw snow flakes falling from the dark sky of the Finnish autumn. Focusing on the snow, the idea of writing variations on it and its various forms became clearer in my mind.”