Beethoven, Ludwig - Piano Sonatas, Volume 1 (Nos. 1-8)
  • Beethoven, Ludwig - Piano Sonatas, Volume 1 (Nos. 1-8)

Beethoven, Ludwig - Piano Sonatas, Volume 1 (Nos. 1-8)

Catalogue No: 00-16743
Product FormatSheet Music
ComposerLudwig van Beethoven
EditorStewart Gordon
Typically dispatched in 2-3 working days
Publication Date2002
ISBN9780739027356 (0739027352)

Beethoven wrote 32 sonatas for piano. Volume 1, edited by Stewart Gordon, includes the first 8 sonatas (Op. 2, Nos. 1-3; Op. 7; Op. 10, Nos. 1-3; and Op. 13 ["Pathétique"]), written between 1795 and 1799. Since these autographs no longer exist, this edition is based on the first editions, published by various Viennese engravers. Dr. Gordon discusses a variety of topics including Beethoven's life; the pianos of his time and their limitations; Beethoven's use of articulation, ornamentation, tempo; and the age-old challenge of attempting to determine the definitive interpretation of Beethoven's music. Valuable performance recommendations, helpful fingering suggestions and ornament realizations are offered in this comprehensive critical body of Beethoven's sonatas. Where performance options are open to interpretation, other editors' conclusions are noted, enabling students and teachers to make informed performance decisions.