Night Time Impressions
  • Night Time Impressions
  • Night Time Impressions
  • Night Time Impressions
  • Night Time Impressions

Night Time Impressions

Catalogue No: FBS02
Product FormatSheet Music


  1. Dusk
  2. Evening Mists
  3. Twilight
  4. Shadows
  5. Dreams
  6. Fox in the Night
  7. Wings in the Dark
  8. Nocturne
  9. Dawn Chorus

Sarah Baker is Vocal Composer in Residence at Education Music Services, an ABRSM examiner and a well known composer of songs and musicals for primary schools and massed-choral events. 

All this experience has come together in the creation of this first published album of piano pieces, inspired by the sounds heard at night from the woodland just beyond Sarah’s childhood home.

Suitable for players of around grade 4-5 standard, her evocative sound pieces begin at the tranquillity of dusk and end with the exuberant dawn chorus.

The composer writes:

'I grew up with woods behind my house, and the nocturnal noises and images that I remember were the inspiration for these eight short sound pictures on the theme of night. The music moves first from the tranquility of dusk and evening mists, to the emerging starlight of twilight. As night falls it takes on on a darker quality with shadows and dreams disturbing peace and calm.The night birds and bats swoop and flit past as they seek their prey, but gradually dawn approaches and peaceful sleep is restored. The morning is heralded in the joyful exuberance of the dawn chorus.'

ISMN9790570500192 (M570500192)