Monteverdi, Claudio - Il ritorno d'Ulisse in patria (It) (Urtext).



Opera - Vocal Score Paperback

More details

£ 27.00

More info

Monteverdi, Claudio    (1567-1643)

The Return of Ulysse    
Tragedy with happy end in one prologue and three acts
Instrumentation: 3 Alto solo, 3 Bass solo, 6 Soprano solo, 7 Tenor solo, Choir, 2 Violin, 2 Viola, Basso continuo

Reviews of this publication:


* Monteverdi’s Ulisse, composed in 1640 for the Teatro San Cassiano in Venice, was to a libretto by Giacomo
Monteverdi’s Ulisse, composed in 1640 for the Teatro San Cassiano in Venice, was to a libretto by Giacomo Badoardo after Homer’s Odyssey. Instantly, the opera became a great hit. Monteverdi’s musical language reached a dramatic diversity here, reflecting the multiple entwined threads of the plot.
Since the publication of the Complete Edition by Gian Francesco Malipiero (1930) no score has been available on sale, although there have been numerous arrangements and adaptations. This situation with editions may be owing to the fact that, in comparison with Orfeo and Poppea, Ulisse has not been as frequently performed.
This may now change. With Il ritorno d’Ulisse in patria, Bärenreiter has begun publishing a series of new editions edited by the conductor and harpsichordist Rinaldo Alessandrini. The principles of these new editions are clearly defined: to remain as close to the original sources as possible, and to identify all editorial decisions. The scores contain a detailed foreword, which particularly addresses questions of performance practice. They also contain a critical edition of the libretto and a critical
commentary, which describes the sources used as well as detailing all editorial decisions.
- Monteverdi’s Ulisse for the first time in a scholarly, critical edition
- With Critical Commentary (English)
- Detailed introduction in three languages (Italian, English, German) with hints on performance practice
- Straightforward piano reduction


Additional Information:

Distribuzione / Ensemble / Besetzung
Indice delle scene / Index of Scenes / Verzeichnis der Szenen
Atto I
Atto II
Atto III

Il ritorno d'Ulisse Vocal score

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Opera' category: