Rameau, J P - Hippolyte et Aricie (1757) (F) (Urtext).



Opera - Vocal Score Paperback

More details

£ 45.50

More info

Rameau, Jean-Philippe    (1683-1764)

Hippolyte et Aricie (1757)    
Tragédie en cinq actes
Series: Opera Omnia OOR IV.6
Instrumentation: Soli, Piano

Reviews of this publication:


* Rameau’s »Hippolyte et Aricie« presents nymphs and deities in
abject disarray

Rameau’s “Hippolyte et Aricie” presents nymphs and deities in abject
disarray. This tragédie en
musique is a fascinating masterpiece by the French baroque composer,
and the score of the final
1757 version is the result of his many years experience with the
theatre. Rameau revised the opera
twice after its première in 1733, shortening the original prologue,
changing several scenes around,
altering the conclusion of Act 4 and adding a new Act 5. The result
was a dramatic structure of far
greater coherence and force.

The new scholarly-critical edition published in Rameau’s Opera omnia
is the first to make use of all
available sources: the full score and incomplete parts for the Paris
performances as well as
manuscript prepared for the Bibliothèque Royale under the
supervision of the copyist Brice.

- Easy-to-play vocal score

- With the Urtext of Rameau’s “Opera omnia”

Hippolyte et Aricie 1757 Vocal Sc (Fr)

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Opera' category: