Butler, Martin - Finnegans Floras View larger

Butler, Martin - Finnegans Floras



For Fourteen Singers, Hand Percussion & Piano.

Oxford Contemporary Repertoire.

More details

£ 19.50

More info

With text taken from Part 2 of James Joyce's final novel "Finnegan's Wake", Finnegan's Floras comprises three passages with particular perfomance directions supplied by Buller. The first public performance was at the 1975 Proms in a concert given by the London Sinfonietta Chorus with John Constable and conducted by Mark Elder. It is scored for 14 singers (, hand percussion and piano.
In the Mime of Mick, Nick and the Maggies - the first section of Part II of James Joyce's Finnegan's Wake - Glugg and Chuff are playing outside their father's pub in the evening with their sister Issy and her seven girl friends. The game is Angels and Devils, and Glugg is the Devil (or Nick), Chuff St. Michael (or Mick), whilst the angels (or harpies or maggies) think of a colour - but twist it to the colour of their knickers (heliotrope). Finnegan's Floras is made up of three passages sung by Issy's seven girl friends - with help from the boys - and showing their 'sweet' aspect - i.e. the floral girls, not the maggies. The passages describe, first, the girls themselves and their naming themselves after all the colours of the rainbow; second their Mass in praise of the beautiful brother Chuff whom they adore; and finally moonrise, or 'pire on poletop'.
Duration 12 minutes

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Composers A-B' category: