Handel, G F - Alexanders Feast (arr Mozart) View larger

Handel, G F - Alexanders Feast (arr Mozart)



K591: Cantata in Two Parts.

Vocal Score in German.

More details

£ 15.00

More info

In 1736 Handel composed “Alexander’s Feast” or “The Power of Musick”, a two-part cantata based on John Dryden’s poem of the same name. 
In 1790, at the suggestion of Baron Gottfried van Swieten, Mozart arranged this work using a German translation of the poem made by Karl Wilhelm Ramler in 1770. As in other arrangements of Handelian works, Mozart’s re-instrumentation leads to a change in the sound character of the work, placing the composition in the tradition of the Viennese Classic. 

- Vocal score available on sale for the first time.


Index of Numbers 
Composer / Author: Händel, Georg Friedrich 
Arranger: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus 
Alexander's Feast K. 591. Cantata in two parts in the arrangement of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: 
Librettist: Dryden, John 
Duration (approx.): 01:20:00 
First Part 
Second Part 

You might also be interested in