Playford, John (ed. Barlow) - Playfords Dancing Master (solo violin) View larger

Playford, John (ed. Barlow) - Playfords Dancing Master (solo violin)



Violin solo

More details

£ 16.99

More info

Playfords The Dancing Master is the classic compendium of English country dance tunes. First published in 1651 it went through eighteen editions in almost 80 years. In its day it was the most popular collection of its kind and engendered numerous imitations. The tunes selected by Playford and his successors were taken from many sources and demonstrate the extraordinary richness and vitality of popular melody in England during the late 17th and early 18th centuries.This book brings together, for the first time under one cover, 535 tunes and their variants from the eighteen original editions. It provides a fund of musical material for performers, whether folk musicians or baroque instrumentalists, and for class and instrumental music teachers. It is also an invaluable reference book for anyone interested in the history of English music.


  • A La Mode De France
  • Adsons Saraband
  • All In A Garden Green
  • Aye Me
  • Blue Cap
  • Boatman
  • Bobbing Joe
  • Broom, Broom, The Bonny, Bonny Broom
  • Cast A Bell
  • Cheerily And Merrily
  • Chestnut
  • Confess His Tune
  • Cuckolds All A Row
  • Dull Sir John
  • The Bath
  • The Beggar Boy
  • The Chirping Of The Lark
  • The Country Coll
  • The Wedding Night

Playfords Dancing Master (solo violin)

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Composers P' category: