Janacek L. - Works for Violin and Piano View larger

Janacek, Leos - Works for Violin and Piano



Violin and Piano - Paperback edition

More details

£ 15.50

More info



Main scoring: violin
Scoring / Genre: violin and piano
Publication lang.: cz./ger./eng

ed. by Jan Krejci and Alena Nemcova

- Urtext from the Janacek Complete Edition
- All available sources have been taken into consideration
- New and detailed foreword by Jiri Zahradka

Whilst still on a study visit to the Conservatory in Leipzig in 1879, Leos Janacek began writing works for violin and piano. He composed at least seven Romances, but only one has survived, quite a simple piece, with the piano frequently doubling the violin part. It is described in the manuscript as Romance No. 4. From the same period comes the Dumka, a passionate work which was soon reworked, and which some scholars have suggested may be one of the Leipzig Romances. The composition par excellence scored for these instruments is the four-movement sonata. It was composed during Janaceks most brilliant period of creativity between 1914 and 1922, when he reached his maturity. The works from these years demonstrate Janaceks striving for maximum concentration of musical thought, precise modulation of form and balance between the individual parts of the work.

Content: author music / lyric / piece:
Janacek Leos: Sonata
Janacek Leos: Allegro
Janacek Leos: Dumka
Janacek Leos: Romance


Works for Violin and Piano

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Composers J' category: