Franck, César - Sonata for Violin and Piano A major View larger

Franck, Cesar - Sonata for Violin and Piano A major



Violin And Piano

More details

£ 16.50

More info

Sonata for Violin and Piano A major - Edited from the autographs and the first edition

Francks Sonata is one of the most famous works in the chamber music repertoire. This new Wiener Urtext Edition is based on the first edition with Francks final corrections. Inconsistencies between the piano score and the solo part are due to annotations by the violinist Eugène Ysaÿe, the dedicatee who was given the work as a wedding present. This version, likely to have been authorized by Franck, is published for the first time in an Urtext edition. Günther Ludwig, in his preface, suggests a carefully considered, cerebral approach to this highlight of the repertoire.

Instrumentation: Violin And Piano
Arranger: Herttrich, Ernst
Editor: Gawriloff, Saschko
Binding: Paperback/Soft Cover
Publisher: Wiener Urtext Edition
ISMN: M-50057-196-4
ISBN: 979-0-50057-196-4


  • Preface
  • Notes on Interpretation
  • Realization of the Arpeggios
  • Chromatische Fantasie und Fuge (Hauptfassung BWV 903)
  • Anhang 1: Chromatische Fantasie (Frühfassung BWV 903a)
  • Faksimile
  • Anhang 2: Chromatische Fantasie (Forkel-Überlieferung)
  • Critical Notes
  • Sources
  • Detailed Notes

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Violin' category: