Smetana B. - String Quartet No. 2 in D minor View larger

Smetana B. - String Quartet No. 2 in D minor



String Quartet - Study score

More details

£ 11.50

More info


Publication type: study score
Main scoring: chamber music for strings
Scoring / Genre: string quartet
Publication lang.: cz./eng./ger.

ed. by Frantisek Bartos, Josef Plavec, Karel Solc

- Urtext from the Study Edition of the Works of Bedrich Smetana
- Detailed foreword (cz./eng./ger.) by Marta Ottlova

The second string quartet of 1883 is Smetanas last chamber music work. Unlike the first string quartet, no programmatic explanation by the composer about this work exists. However, this quartet can also be regarded as a personal confession, as emerges from numerous letters by Smetana. He wrote of the first movement: I have my doubts with regard to the form of this movement. It has a very unusual form and is difficult to understand. A kind of breakdown prevails throughout the movement and will cause, so it seems to me, the players extreme difficulty. This is a result of my unhappy life. The quartet elicited mixed responses - the unusual character of the whole composition, its brevity, discontinuity and density were also seen by Smetanas admirers for a long time as a sign of an incomplete creative process. However, the opposite is true. This work was far ahead of its time. In its uncompromising quality, it points the way to works of the 20th century. The musical text of the new edition is based on the Study Edition of the Works of Bedrich Smetana, Volume XV - Chamber Music Works.

String Quartet 2 Study score

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Mixed String Quartets' category: