Vivaldi A. - Complete Cello Sonatas



For Violoncello and Basso continuo (RV 39-47)

More details

£ 32.50

More info

Vivaldi, Antonio    (1678-1741)

Complete Sonatas for Violoncello and Basso continuo   RV 39-47
Instrumentation: Violoncello, Basso continuo

Reviews of this publication:

BA 6995

This scholarly-critical edition is based on all the known sources,
whether printed or handwritten,
that have come down to us for these frequently played pieces. By
closely scrutinizing the
source material, the editor has arrived at interesting findings that
considerably differ from earlier
editions of these works. Rather than taking as her principal source
Le Clerc’s 1740 print
of Sonatas I to VI – an edition probably made without the composer’s
consent – the editor has
examined the Naples and Wiesentheid manuscripts prepared under
Vivaldi’s direct supervision.
The editor has also managed to identify a previously unknown source
for Sonata RV 44.

All departures from the sources in the printed text and all
editorial additions are listed in the
critical report. Cellists are thus given ready access to every
alternative reading,
including deleted bars and the many inevitable variants in

A detailed preface provides essential information on sources and
their assessment,
with a section on performance practice offering valuable suggestions
on interpretation.

- All of Antonio Vivaldis works for violoncello and continuo in a
single edition

- Scholarly-critical edition for performance purposes

- Detailed preface on sources and performance practice

- With new findings that considerably differ from earlier editions

„This edition is invaluable for all performers of the Sonatas.“

(Ensemble January 2004)

„This is certainly the definitive edition of these works.”

(Strings August/September 2003)


Additional Information:

Sonata I, RV 47
Sonata II, RV 41
Sonata III, RV 43
Sonata IV, RV 45
Sonata V, RV 40
Sonata VI, RV 46
Sonata VII, RV 44
Sonata VIII, RV 39
Sonata IX, RV 42
Kritischer Bericht


Cello Sonatas Complete Cello & Piano


Includes 'Largo' and 'Allegro': 1st and 2nd movts from Sonata in E minor, RV 40, set on the 2010-2015 ABRSMGrade 6 syllabus; and 'Largo' and 'Allegro:' 1st and 2nd movts from Sonata in F, RV 41, set on the 2010-2015ABRSM Grade 7 syllabus; and 'Largo' and 'Allegro poco': 1st and 2nd movts from Sonata in A minor, RV 44, set on the 2010-2015 ABRSM Grade 8 syllabus.

You might also be interested in