Wheeler, Kenny - Deer Wan (LP + Download Card) View larger

Wheeler, Kenny - Deer Wan (LP + Download Card)



Kenny Wheeler, trumpet, flugelhorn
Jan Garbarek, tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone
John Abercrombie, electric guitar, electric mandolin
Dave Holland, double bass
Jack DeJohnette, drums
Ralph Towner, 12-string guitar

180g vinyl pressing from the original analog tapes

Includes code to download the digital audio files for free

ECM 1102

More details

£ 19.25

More info

The notoriously self-critical trumpeter Kenny Wheeler maintained that Deer Wan (recorded 1976) was his favourite among his own albums (“I like the overall form of this one best”). A tremendous band plays Wheeler’s tunes here. Kenny and Jan Garbarek sing together gloriously on the themes, and intermingle lines. The “Gateway” trio of John Abercrombie, Dave Holland and Jack DeJohnette drives the music with great verve. Guest Ralph Towner adds his distinctive 12-string guitar to a lilting Wheeler waltz.

Initially published in January 1978, vinyl is reissued in October 2016 as audiophile pressing taken from the original analog tapes.

1 - Peace For Five
2 - 3/4 in the Afternoon
3 - Sumother Song
4 - Deer Wan

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Vinyl' category: