Mozart - Piano Concertos, Vol. 3 (Bavouzet) View larger

Mozart - Piano Concertos, Vol. 3 (Bavouzet)



Concerto in D major KV 451

Concerto in B flat major KV 450

Quintet in E flat major KV 452 for Piano, Oboe, Clarinet, Horn and Bassoon

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet

Manchester Camerata

Gabor Takacs-Nagy

Chandos Records Ltd, 2018

More details

£ 15.40

More info

This third volume in the series from the electrifying combination of Jean-Efflam Bavouzet and Manchester Camerata under Gábor Takács-Nagy explores the final two of the six piano concertos of the year 1784, on which Mozart staked his reputation as both a performer and composer. Alongside these works features the pioneering Quintet for Piano and Winds, also from 1784, the first written for this combination of instruments and a work which Mozart regarded as his finest to date.

The consecutive Köchel numbers of the three piano works hint at a remarkable story: not only were they all written in the same extraordinarily productive year, but all were completed in the same month, March, when Mozart was just twenty-eight years old. The two concertos form a pair, and in letters to his father Mozart makes it clear that he wrote them for his own performance: ‘nobody but I owns these new concertos in B flat and D’, adding in another letter, two weeks later, ‘I consider them both to be concertos which make one sweat’. Heard in this context, Bavouzet’s playing is all the more astonishing.


Concerto, KV 451 (1784) in D major for Piano and Orchestra
1. Allegro assai - Cadenza - [Tempo I]
2. Andante
3. Rondeau. Allegro di molto - Cadenza - [Tempo I]

Concerto, KV 450 (1784) in B flat major for Piano and Orchestra
4. Allegro - Cadenza - Adagio - Tempo I
5. Andante
6. Allegro - [Cadenza] - [Tempo I] - Cadenza - [Tempo I]

Quintet, KV 452 (1784) in E flat major for Piano, Oboe, Clarinet, Horn, and Bassoon
7. Largo - Allegro moderato
8. Larghetto
9. Allegretto - Cadenza in tempo - [Tempo I]

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, piano

Manchester Camerata

Rachel Clegg, oboe
Fiona Cross, clarinet
Naomi Atherton, horn
Ben Hudson, bassoon
Adi Brett, leader

Gabor Takacs-Nagy, conductor

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Orchestral ' category: