Piano Safari - Windy Nights and Other Tales



Composed by Chee-Hwa Tan, Windy Nights and Other Tales is a collection of three captivating piano solos. Each piece corresponds with a poem by Robert Louis Stevenson. These pieces are intended to encourage young pianists to explore the inherent value of poetry in music and to be bold in expressing that same poetry in performance.

Published by Piano Safari

More details

£ 6.95

More info

The titles are as follows:

From a Railway Carriage
The Land of Story Books
Windy Nights
A note from the composer:

“This trilogy of piano solos is inspired by more of my favorite poems from A Child’s Garden of Verses by Robert Louis Stevenson.  The pieces in this collection reinforce specific musical and technical elements at the intermediate to late intermediate levels of piano study.  I encourage students to first recite the poems and to imagine how they would communicate the story through the sound colors of the piano.  Metronome markings serve only as guidelines – please feel free to choose tempos that reflect how you want the poems to sound.”

Chee-Hwa Tan has a passion for nurturing the art and love of music making in pianists of all ages and levels. Her compositions encourage students to explore and express sound images at the piano while developing specific technical skills necessary for artistic playing.

Currently the Head of Piano Pedagogy at the University of Denver Lamont School of Music, Ms. Tan teaches both graduate and undergraduate piano pedagogy. She is a specialist in curriculum development for pre-college piano and class piano teaching and has served on the piano pedagogy faculties at the Oberlin Conservatory and Southern Methodist University. Over the years, her students have distinguished themselves as performers, teachers, and life long music makers.

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Others' category: