Faure, Gabriel - Valses-Caprices View larger

Faure, Gabriel - Valses-Caprices



For Solo Piano

More details

£ 18.50

More info

Fauré’s four “Valses-Caprices” (1882/83–1894) demonstrate various forms of his treatment of the waltz in combination with the free form of the caprice.
The composer drew his inspiration for his “Valses-Caprices” in the first place from works such as Liszt’s “Valse-Impromptu” and his “Valse à capriccio” and the famous “Valse-Caprice” by Anton Rubinstein.

These important groups of works are now made available in scholarly-critical Urtext editions based on the “Œuvres complètes de Gabriel Fauré” and reflect the latest state of research. Detailed forewords offer information on the genesis and significance of the compositions as well as valuable suggestions on historical interpretation.
All the available manuscript and printed sources as well as piano rolls containing recordings by the composer have been taken into consideration, leading to new discoveries particularly regarding the “Valses-Caprices”.

• Based on the “Œuvres complètes de Gabriel Fauré”
• Based on the latest research findings and extensive source studies
• Informative forewords with advice on performance practice (Fr/Eng/Ger)

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Piano' category: