Bartok, Bela - Mikrokosmos, Band Three (V & VI) View larger

Bartok, Bela - Mikrokosmos, Band Three (V & VI)



Volumes Five & Six Together.

For Piano Solo.

Wiener Urtext Edition.

More details

£ 24.95

More info

Béla Bartók's Mikrokosmos is one of the key works of 20th-century piano music. The repertoire comprises educational pieces 'from the very first beginning' as well as concert literature, thus making this work an indispensable companion to piano lessons. The work is now available for the first time as urtext edition in three volumes, with each volume containing two of the six volumes of the original edition. The musical text was critically examined on the basis of the sources and could be corrected in many details. Furthermore, the edition contains some previously unpublished pieces and early versions. Educationally very revealing are the versions of several pieces which Bartók arranged specially for the lessons of his son Peter and which are printed in the appendix of the volumes. The edition is completed by notes on study and interpretation based on the sources and a glossary of unusual expression markings.


  - Chords Together and Opposed
  - Staccato and Legato
  - Staccato
  - Boating
  - Change of Time
  - New Hungarian Folk Song
  - Peasant Dance
  - Alternating Thirds
  - Village Joke
  - Fourths
  - Major Seconds Broken and Together
  - Syncopation
  - Studies in Doube Notes
  - Perpetuum Mobile
  - Whole-tone Scale
  - Unison
  - Bagpipe-Music
  - Merry Andrew
  - Free Variations
  - Subject and Reflection
  - From the Diary of a Fly
  - Divided Arpeggios
  - Minor Seconds, Major Sevenths
  - Chromatic Invention
  - Ostinato
  - March
  - Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm
  - Appendis: Early Versions: Chromatic Invention
  - March
  - Béla Bartók's Comments
  - Notes on Study and Interpretation
  - Glossary
  - Critical Notes

You might also be interested in