Dark Sleep - Berkeley, Michael View larger

Berkeley, M - Dark Sleep



Solo piano

More details

£ 10.25

More info

This evocative solo piano piece looks back, as though in some troubled dream, to fragments of Purcell and Tippett. The widely spaced opening notes are interrupted, after only eight bars, by a quick and relentlessly turbulent passage. A brief reference to the opening of Tippetts Fourth Symphony leads into a slower, more expressive section: a predominantly mysterious, even glassy sound world from which emerges the poignant notes of Didos Lament from Purcells Dido and Aeneas, now at last momentarily in its correct juxtaposition. Finally, a tiny fragment of the music is spinned obsessively until it falls out of control and back into the carefully placed notes of the opening.

You might also be interested in