Bartok, Bela - Mikrokosmos Vol. 3 View larger

Bartok, Bela - Mikrokosmos Vol. 3



Piano - Mikrokosmos

More details

£ 11.99

More info

Mikrokosmos Vol. 3 - 153 Progressive Piano Pieces

The definitive edition (1987) of the piano teaching classic. Includes an introduction by the composers son Peter Bartók.
In 1945 Bela Bartok described Mikrokosmos as a cycle of 153 pieces for piano written for didactic purposes, seeing them as a series of pieces in many different styles, representing a small world, or as the world of the little ones, the children. Stylistically Mikrokosmos reflects the influence of folk music on Bartóks life and the rhythms and harmonies employed create music that is as modern today as when the cycle was written.
The 153 pieces making up Mikrokosmos are divided into six volumes arranged according to technical and musical difficulty.

Series: Mikrokosmos
Instrumentation: Piano
Binding: Saddle stitching
Language: English - French - German - Hungarian
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes, London
ISMN: M-060-08003-6
ISBN: 979-0-060-08003-6


  • Foreword to the Definitive Edition
  • Preface by the Composer
  • Thirds against a Single Voice
  • Hungarian Dance
  • Study in Chords
  • Melody against Double Notes
  • Thirds
  • Dragons Dance
  • Sixths and Triads
  • Hungarian Matchmaking Song
  • Triplets
  • In Three Parts
  • Little Study
  • Five-tone Scale
  • Hammage à J.S.B.
  • Hommage à R.Sch.
  • Wandering
  • Scherzo
  • Melody with Interruptions
  • Merriment
  • Broken Chords
  • Two Major Pentrachords
  • Variations
  • Duet for Pipes
  • In Four Parts (1)
  • In Russian Style
  • Chromatic Invention (1)
  • Chromatic Invention (2)
  • In Four Parts (2)
  • Once Upon a Time...
  • Fox Song
  • Jolts
  • Appendix: Exercises
  • Appendix: Notes

You might also be interested in