Middelschulte W. - Organ Works, Vol.2 (complete) (Urtext) Concerto / Canon Fantasie



£ 29.00

More info

Middelschulte, Wilhelm    (1863-1943)

Complete Organ Works II: Original Compositions 2    
Instrumentation: Organ

Reviews of this publication:

* Wilhelm Middelschulte (1863-1943) studied church music in Berlin

Wilhelm Middelschulte (1863–1943) studied church music in Berlin.
From 1891 onwards he
worked as director of the organ department at the American
Conservatory in Chicago and the
Wisconsin Conservatory in Milwaukee. As a virtuoso organist he had a
formative impact on
American organ music: even Ferruccio Busoni called him a ‘master of
counterpoint’ and the
greatest contrapuntal composer since J. S. Bach.

The Concerto for Organ is a masterpiece of contrapuntal inversion.
The thematic material of
all five movements is taken from the theme of the great Organ Fugue
in E minor BWV 584/2 by
Johann Sebastian Bach. The “Canonic Fantasy” is in the form of a
passacaglia, whose theme
and contrapuntal inversions are taken from the BACH motif. The
virtuoso “Perpetuum mobile”
for pedal solo is one of the works which Middelschulte performed
most frequently.

- First Urtext edition of Middelschulte’s complete organ works

- Each volume contains a detailed foreword and Critical Commentary


- Concerto for Organ on a theme by Johann Sebastian Bach

- Canonic Fantasy on BACH and Fugue on 4 themes by Johann Sebastian

- Perpetuum mobile – Pedal Solo on a Theme by Bach (Timpani and
Piatti ad libitum)

Additional Information:

Konzert für Orgel über ein Thema von Joh. Seb. Bach
Kanonische Fantasie über BACH und Fuge über 4 Themen von Joh. Seb.
Perpetuum mobile
Kritischer Bericht
Errata Band 1 (BA 8491)

Complete Organ Works Bk2

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Composers M' category: