Muffat G. - Complete Works for Keyboard (Organ), Vol. 1 (Urtext).



£ 23.50

More info

Muffat, Georg: Ebner, Wolfgang     

Complete Works for Keyboard (Organ), Volume 1    
First Edition
Series: Sämtliche Werke für Clavier (Orgel), Band 1
Instrumentation: Piano, Harpsichord, Organ

Reviews of this publication:

* Georg Muffat, Wolfgang Ebner

Volume I of this projected two-volume practical Urtext edition is
the first to unite all the
keyboard works of Georg Muffat (1653–1704) and Wolfgang Ebner
That the clavier music of a composer of Muffat’s stature should
remain unpublished,
apart from three pieces, is a mystery of musical scholarship. Muffat
was, after all,
a precursor of Johann Sebastian Bach on a par with Buxtehude,
Pachelbel and the
Krieger brothers. This edition contains the previously unpublished
works in Codex XIV 743
from the Minorite Abbey in Vienna, as well as the three harpsichord
pieces from
Apparatus Musico-Organisticus that have already appeared in print.

Ebner was an organist and then was chapel-master at St. Stephen’s in
Vienna at the same
time as Johann Jacob Froberger. Later he became the teacher of the
Habsburg Emperor
Leopold I. A master of strict counterpoint, his music surpassed even
Froberger’s in virtuosity.

Volume I contains a critical report (German/English) and a detailed
preface (German/English)
with sections on the source material, editorial method, performance
practice and
ornamentation as well as a discussion of each work.

- First publication of two outstanding 17th-century composers

- Detailed preface and critical report (German/English)

- Important addition to the harpsichord and organ repertoire

- Definitive Urtext edition

Additional Information:

Georg Muffat, Werke gesicherter Authentizität Teil 1:
Partita in C
Gique in G
Partita in d (Fragment)
Partita in d
Werke ungesicherter Authentizität Teil 1:
Partita in C
Wolfgang Ebner, Werke gesicherter Authentizität, Teil 1:
Toccata Tertij Toni in a
Capriccio Sopra Laria Pergamasco in G
Partite Sopra LAria Favorita 20 in G
Werke ungesicherter Authentizität, Teil 1:
56 Versetten durch die acht Kirchentöne

Complete Keyboard Works 1

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Composers M' category: