Bunk G. - Organ Works Vol.1, Op.4a - Op.16 (Urtext).



£ 35.50

More info

Bunk, Gerard    (1888-1958)

Complete Organ Works, Volume I    
Series: Sämtliche Orgelwerke, Band I
Instrumentation: Organ

Reviews of this publication:

* - Thanks to Max Reger’s support, Gerard Bunk (1888-1958), became a lecturer at the
Thanks to Max Reger’s support, Gerard Bunk (1888-1958), became a lecturer at the Dortmund Conservatory and organist at the famous Walcker organ at St. Reinoldi in Dortmund. He was one of the greatest organists of the first half of the 20th century who, besides Reger, was able to develop his own, characteristic style.
His organ compositions divide into free individual works, character pieces, chorale preludes and six large-scale concert works. Volume I contains Bunk’s early organ works, mostly in first editions.
This Urtext edition, prepared by the composer’s grandson, is the result of extensive and painstaking research of the sources: the accompanying text is in two languages (German/English), and the edition reflects the latest musicological findings. Each volume contains a detailed foreword, numerous facsimiles and illustrations and a Critical Commentary in German and English. The complete edition will comprise six volumes.
Short text:
Bunks organ works include freely composed pieces, character pieces, chorale preludes and six large-scale concert pieces. The first volume contains all early works.
“Zeven Variaties op O Sanctissima” op. 4a /
“Preludium en Fuga over een thema uit de ‚Eroica. Symphonie’” van Beethoven op. 8 /
Sonatine in D minor op. 10 /
Four organ pieces in polyphonic style op. 12 /
Five organ pieces op. 16
- Urtext edition edited by the grandson of the composer
- Based on the latest scholarly research and on all available sources
- Detailed preface (Ger/Eng) and critical report (Ger/Eng) in each volume
- Includes numerous facsimile pages and illustrations
“This publication is a useful addition to the voluntary repertoire and something new for your recital programmes.”
(Organists Rev., Nov.2009)

Additional Information:

7 Variaties op. O Sanctissima op. 4a / 7 Variationen über das
Weihnachtslied O du fröhliche op. 4a
Preludium en Fuga over een thema uit de Eroica-Symphonie van Beethoven
c-Moll op. 8 / Praeludium und Fuge über ein Thema aus der
Eroica-Symphonie von Beethoven c-Moll op. 8
Sonatine d-Moll op. 10: Allegro / Andante / Allegro - Praeludium und
Fuga (a 3 voci)
Vier Orgelstücke im polyphonen Styl op. 12:
Nr. 1 Praeludium a-Moll
Nr. 2 Fuga a-Moll
Nr. 3 Choralvorspiel O Haupt voll Blut und Wunden
Nr. 4 Fuga voor 2 clavieren en pedaal a-Moll
Fünf Orgelstücke op. 16:
Nr. 1 Fuge e-Moll
Nr. 2 Praeludium g-Moll
Nr. 3 Romanze G-Dur
Nr. 4 Abendlied C-Dur
Nr. 5 Frühling G-Dur
Kritischer Bericht:
I. Abkürzungen
II. Zur Editionstechnik
III. Quellen
IV. Einzelnachweise

Organ Works Vol1

You might also be interested in