Bandkraft 1 - Golland, John: Newsome View larger

Bandkraft 1 - Golland, John: Newsome



Golland, John: Newsome - Brass

More details

£ 19.95

More info

The first of three superb sets of new music and arrangements for brass ensemble. Includes: 1. Bandkraft – John Golland: A substantial piece with an exciting syncopated rhythm introduced in the opening bars and referred to throughout in a fanfare-like manner, to which a hint of dissonance adds extra thrill to the sound. 2. Saraband – Gordon Jacob: A stately Elizabethan dance of great beauty, utilising modal harmony in Jacob’s characteristic style. Constant speed, full note values and careful playing will achieve a beautiful, delicate effect. 3. La Donna E Mobile – Verdi, arr. Roy Newsome: An amusing arrangement of this popular favourite by a conductor and adjudicator of international acclaim. Easy and enjoyable to play and to listen to. 4. Spike’s Rag – Michael Ball: A skilfully written piece in the true tradition of Scott Joplin, with the ragtime rhythm the backdrop to an unfolding conversation between the sections of the band. Really persuasive entertainment. 5. National Anthem – arr. John Golland: A simple first verse setting the scene for the colourful and majestic second, utilising chromatic harmonies and an optional tenor counter melody for added splendour.

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Brass' category: