Bach J.S. - Brandenburg Concerto No.4 in G (BWV 1049) (Urtext).



Orchestra - Large Score Paperback

More details

£ 13.50

More info

Bach, Johann Sebastian    (1685-1750)

Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 G major BWV 1049
Instrumentation: 2 Recorder-A, Violin-solo, Strings

Reviews of this publication:

* 6 Brandenburg Concertos BWV 1046-1051

The six Brandenburg Concertos BWV 1046-1051, prized jewels of the
worlds musical heritage,
were written in 1721 during Bach’s appointment in Cöthen. Of the six
works, Bach originally
wrote earlier versions of numbers 1 and 5 which differ not only with
regard to articulation but
also at times different tones, different rhythms, instrumentation
and of course form.
These Urtext publications [BA 5201-BA 5206] taken from the New Bach
Edition now give
performers the possibility to play these earlier versions perhaps
even along side the version
known today.

In the earlier version of concerto No.1 (BWV 1046a), which according
to the editor of the
edition Heinrich Besseler seems to have been Bach’s favorite among
the six, there is no violino
piccolo part to be found and, the violin concerto-like 3rd movement
as well as the Polonaise
movement are also absent. In nearly every measure the articulation
in one instrument or
another differs from the later version: for example the 16th-note
slurs in bars 1 and 2 of the
horns are missing in the later score, the oboe slurs and trills in
m.12 are also not to be found.
The later version has the cello seperated from the continuo which
means that the 16ths in m.7
are not to be played by the Violone grosso.

Brandenburg Concerto 4 Full score

You might also be interested in