Elgar, Edward - Enigma Variations View larger

Elgar, Edward - Enigma Variations



Elgar Enigma Variations for Orchestra (Op.36) Full Score by Barenreiter Urtext.

First Urtext edition of this popular concert work

Critical Commentary with facsimiles

Large format performance material

More details

£ 68.00

More info

Edward Elgar’s popular Enigma Variations, composed between 1898-99 is a collection of variations on an original theme - each of the variations is dedicated to one of his close friends - or as Elgar himself put it: “Dedicated to my Friends Pictured Within”.

Christopher Hogwood’s new Urtext edition makes use of all known source material including the early sketches, autograph score and the revised text from 1904, the new edition clarifies discrepancies between the score and reprintings of the orchestral material while also documenting Elgar’s revisions. The edition contains the original ending to the Intermezzo (Variation X) as well as the original ending to the last variation.

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Full Scores' category: