Brahms, Johannes - Piano Trio Opus 101 View larger

Brahms, Johannes - Piano Trio Opus 101



For Violin, Violoncello & Piano.

Piano Score & String Parts.

More details

£ 16.50

Data sheet

More info

Christopher Hogwood’s scholarly-critical edition of Brahms’ final and perhaps greatest trio op. 101 is based on two main sources, the first edition and the autograph. 
The foreword of this edition presents information on contemporary performance practice; Hogwood has drawn on the comments of Fanny Davis, a Brahms student, to shed light on this. She describes how Brahms played the trio with Joseph Joachim and Robert Hausmann at an informal reading (with Clara Schumann turning pages) in Baden-Baden in approx. 1895. 
Davis’ descriptions have much to do with articulation, dynamics and tempo fluctuations; in short exactly those aspects of performance practice where we lack real direction.

- Includes important information on performance practice of the day (Ger/Eng)
- With a detailed critical commentary (Eng)

You might also be interested in