Trio for Horn, Violin and Piano



Derek Bourgeois - score and parts

More details

£ 24.95

More info

By: Derek Bourgeois


Derek Bourgeois wrote his Horn Trio during the spring of 1981. It was commissioned by the Deakin Horn Trio. It is an overtly romantic work in sharp contradistinction to the composer’s 5th Symphony which immediately preceded it, a work that is rather severe by comparison. In the Horn Trio Derek Bourgeois has placed emphasis on melodic writing throughout, writing actual singable tunes as the thematic basis for all three movements. Nevertheless the spirit of unease, which pervades our contemporary life. lies brooding beneath the surface, constantly threatening to destroy the outward veneer of calm and joy. Technically the work is a tour de force for all three soloists, presenting many problems of ensemble and finesse as well as the more obvious bravura.

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Ensemble Music & Scores' category: