Sparke, Philip - Skilful Solos for Horn View larger

Sparke, Philip - Skilful Solos for Horn



Twenty Progressive Pieces with Piano Accompaniment.

For French Horn in F or Tenor Horn in E flat (Eb).

Set on Grades Three & Four of the ABRSM French & Tenor Horn Exams from 2013-2016.

More details

£ 13.50

More info

Philip Sparke’s Skilful Solos is the second volume of a progressive series of solo books that takes the young wind player from beginner to accomplished musician. Following on from the first book in the series Starter Solos this collection generally contains longer pieces suitable for the developing young musician. Specifically tailored for each instrument, Skilful Solos introduces the concept of phrasing by suggesting suitable breathing points and takes the player into new keys with extended instrumental ranges, new notes being introduced in a gradual and logical manner.

Skilful Solos comes with a play-along CD. The advantages of playing either with piano or CD accompaniment are that the beginning player can now experience the important aspects of ensemble playing from their earliest lessons, thus developing the essential skills of listening while they play and maintaining strict tempo, which is not always achieved when playing alone.


1 1. Nice to See You Again    
2 2. Pony and Trap    
3 3. Summer Siesta    
4 4. Spring    
  Composer: Vivaldi, Antonio
5 5. A Victorian Ballad    
6 6. Trumpet Tune    
7 7. Promenade    
8 8. Greensleeves    
  Composer: Traditional
9 9. Could You Repeat That?    
10 10. Alladale Aria    
11 11. Scales of Justice    
12 12. Largo from Winter    
  Composer: Vivaldi, Antonio
13 13. Waltz with Variations    
14 14. At the Circus    
15 15. Adagio    
  Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
16 16. Marche Militaire    
  Composer: Schubert, Franz
17 17. Thinking of You    
18 18. Fives and Threes    
19 19. Daydream    
20 20. Rhode Island Rag

You might also be interested in