Mozart, W A - Flute Quartet No. 1 in D major K 285 View larger

Mozart, W A - Flute Quartet No. 1 in D major K 285



Edition for flute and piano

Edited by Hans Stolba

Published by Universal Edition

Contains Allegro (From Quartet No.1), which features on the ABRSM Grade 8 2022 syllabus in List A

More details

£ 13.99

More info

Of the three "Mannheim" flute quartets, that in D major K 285, is probably the best-known. Commissioned by the Dutch music-lover De Jean, it is concertante in character throughout: in the virtuoso opening movement, in the arioso central section and in the exuberant closing Rondeau the flute is treated as a solo instrument. The autograph manuscript has been classified as lost since 1945. According to the Köchel Catalogue it bore the original dating "Mannheim il 25 dec.1777". The dynamics and articulation provided by the sources are extremely sparse. In this respect the present edition for flute and piano largely follows the source material. The purpose of this arrangement is to enrich the flautist 's repertoire by a masterpiece from Mozart's chamber music.

You might also be interested in