Handel G.F. - Concerto for Flute (Oboe) in G minor (HWV 287) (First edition)



Orchestra - Piano reduction

More details

£ 9.00

More info

Händel, Georg Friedrich    (1685-1759)

Concerto in G minor for Flute (Oboe) and Orchestra   HWV 287
Urtext after a newly discovered source
Instrumentation: Flute, Piano

Reviews of this publication:

* George Frideric Handel

The Concerto for Flute and Orchestra in G minor, HWV 287 is a first
Although published in the Handel Complete Edition, IV/12 for oboe in
1971, the work has for
many years been considered spurious because no contemporary source

This concerto was thought to have been written by an amateur
musician who borrowed
material from Handels works written or published after 1733. The
situation changed
drastically when a contemporary set of parts for the concerto,
originally copied in Stuttgart
for the Erbprinz Friedrich Ludwig von Württemberg, were found in
1993. These parts, copied
about 1720, show that the composer borrowed from this concerto for
compositions such as
the organ concerto HWV 296a, the concerto grosso op. 6 No.11, HWV
329 as well as the
trio sonata in G minor, HWV 390. The parts are titled Concerto à 5
for 1 Flut Travers e Hautb,
2 Violino, 1 Alto Viola Col Basso continuo. This new critical
edition by Terence Best is the first
to make use of this new source. The score contains a lengthy preface
and critical commentary.

- First ever publication making use of the new source material

- Informative preface describing the origin and genesis of the work

- A major new work for flute players

Flute Concerto G minor Flute & Piano

You might also be interested in