The Cambridge Clarinet Tutor View larger

Harris, Paul - The Cambridge Clarinet Tutor



A comprehensive and stimulating introduction to clarinet playing.

Clarinet Part Only.

More details

£ 12.99

More info

Paul Harris


The Cambridge Clarinet Tutor is a comprehensive and stimulating introduction to clarinet playing. Through the sixteen progressive stages the beginner will develop the technical skills and musicianship necessary to establish a love and understanding of the clarinet and its music. Each stage comprises thorough technical exercises, scales and arpeggios where relevant, a study, duets for pupil and teacher, a piece with piano accompaniment and a work introducing the player to the more traditional repertoire. The studies and pieces composed by Paul Harris for the tutor are the result of many years’ teaching experience, and will add significantly to the music available for the early stages of clarinet playing. The colourful melodies, rhythms and harmonies combine to make valuable teaching material and, from the beginning, excite the musical imagination of the pupil.


Bibliographic Details


22 b/w illus.



  • Fingering chart
  • Acknowledgements
  • Preface
  • Preliminaries
  • Part I. The Low (Chalumeau) Register: 1. Curtain up
  • 2. Swinging
  • 3. Waltz
  • 4. Bounce
  • 5. March
  • 6. Stately dance
  • 7. Cat and kitten
  • 8. A sad song
  • Part II. The Middle (Clarinet) Register: 9. Merry-making
  • 10. Twinkle, twinkle little star
  • 11. Ecossaise L. van Beethoven
  • Part III: 12. Penguins
  • 13. Swaying
  • 14. Snake-charmer
  • Part IV. The High Register: 15. Eastern song
  • 16. Golliwogs cake walk C. Debussy
  • Supplementary material
  • Rudiments of music
  • Glossary.

You might also be interested in