Berkeley, Michael - Music from Chaucer View larger

Berkeley, Michael - Music from Chaucer



For Brass Quintet & Optional Percussion.

Oxford Contemporary Repertoire.

More details

£ 25.95

More info

A work in five movements of widely differing character. The first, Triton's Trumpets acts as an overture to the suite of pieces and is rustic and fanfare-like. The Grieving Queen is a haunting slow waltz. The Fanfare for the Huntsmen is very short and vigorous. In the fourth movement, The Sorrowful Knight, each instrument expresses its individual sorrow, at first alone and then in counterpoint. In the music for the final movement, The Wakeful Poet, Chaucer himself chatters in a jaunty, innocent style. Score and parts (2 x trumpets in C, horn in F, trombone, tuba and percussion) included.
Duration 12 minutes

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Brass Ensemble' category: