The Organ Music of J. S. Bach View larger

The Organ Music of J. S. Bach



A classic study of Bach’s organ works, fully revised to take account of recent scholarship.

More details

£ 47.99

More info

Peter Williams

This is a completely revised edition of volumes I and II of The Organ Music of J. S. Bach (1980), a bestselling title, which has subsequently become a classic text. This new edition takes account of the Bach scholarship of the last 25 years. Peter Williams’s piece-by-piece commentary puts the musical sources of the organ works in context, describing the form and content of each work and relating them to other music, German and non-German. He summarises the questions about the history, authenticity, chronology, function and performance of each piece, and points out important details of style and musical quality. The study follows the order of the Bach catalogue (BWV), beginning with the sonatas, then the ‘free works’, followed by chorales and ending with the doubtful works, including the ‘newly discovered chorales’ of 1985.

Bibliographic Details

297 music examples


  • Fugue in G Minor, BWV 131a
  • Six Sonatas, BWV 525-530
  • Preludes and Fugues (Praeludia), BWV 531-552
  • Eight Short Preludes and Fugues, BWV 553-560
  • Miscellaneous Pieces, BWV 561-591
  • Concertos, BWV 592-596
  • Orgelbüchlein, BWV 599-644
  • Schübler Chorales, BWV 645-650
  • Chorales formerly called The Eighteen, BWV 651-668
  • Chorales from Clavierübung III, BWV 669-689
  • Chorales formerly called The Kirnsberger Collection, BWV 690-713
  • Miscellaneous Chorales, BWV 714-765
  • Chorale Variations (Partitas), BWV 766-771
  • Four Duets from Clavierübung III, BWV 802-805
  • Chorales now called The Neumeister Collection, BWV 1090-1120
  • Further works, in part uncertain of origin
  • Calendar
  • Glossary.

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Books on Music/Music Theory' category: