Vivaldi - The Four Seasons and Other Concertos, Op. 8 View larger

Vivaldi - The Four Seasons and Other Concertos, Op. 8



Paperback. This detailed guide provides an ideal introduction to The Four Seasons and to Vivaldi’s music in general.

More details

£ 16.99

More info

Paul Everett


The Four Seasons and the rest of the concertos in Op. 8 represent Vivaldi’s remarkable innovation in the field of the Baroque concerto. This detailed guide examines the work’s origin and construction in a way that enables the reader to distinguish what is extraordinary about the Seasons and what constitutes the composer’s customary method of ‘characterising’ the solo concerto. Drawing on recent research and his own expertise in the appraisal of Vivaldi’s manuscripts, the author draws interesting and sometimes startling conclusions about the conception of the Seasons, the origin of their programme, the dating of the concertos and the rationale behind the collection’s ritornello-form structures and aria-like slow movements. The significance of Vivaldi’s idiosyncratic art is thus revealed in some of the most popular concert music of all time.


Bibliographic Details


3 b/w illus. 25 music examples



  • List of illustrations
  • Preface
  • List of abbreviations
  • 1. One collection, two Vivaldis
  • 2. Origin and motivation
  • 3. Ritornello forms
  • 4. Expression and meaning
  • 5. The slow movements
  • 6. The Four Seasons
  • Notes
  • Select bibliography
  • Index.

You might also be interested in

other products in the 'Books on Music/Music Theory' category: